go back to the blog

EuroSTAR 2016 – Award Winners

  • 23/11/2016
  • no comments
  • Posted by Ronan

The EuroSTAR Awards are currently in their 15th year. The Awards recognise excellence, and outstanding achievement by those in the Software Testing industry. Along with the Testing Excellence Award, awarded to outstanding achievement in the Software Testing Industry, the Awards also include the Best Paper and Best Tutorial.

Each of these Awards were handed out at the Awards Gala event held in the beautiful surrounds of Cafe Opera this year in Stockholm. 


Best Paper Award

This year the quality of entries for the Best Paper Award were exceedingly high.  The judging panel had a very tough decision deciding on a winner. Finally it was decided that not just one but two of the submitted papers were worthy winners and for the first time the Best Paper Award was awarded to two people. Awarded the joint Best Paper Award were Declan ‘O Riordan  for”Application Security Testing: A New Approach” and Zeger Van Hese  for “The Power of Doubt – Becoming A Software Sceptic“.

EuroSTAR 2016 Best Paper


This is the second time that Declan has been awarded the Best Paper. He also received the Best Paper prize at EuroSTAR 2014 in Dublin for the paper ‘The What? Why? Who? And How? Of Application Security. Declan has worked in IT since 1981 and testing since 1987. Declan subsequently won the prize for best conference paper at the USA’s STAR East conference in 2015 with ‘Security Testing: What Testers Can Do’. 

This is the forth time that Zeger has been awarded Best Paper at EuroSTAR. He previously won at EuroSTAR 2007, 2009 and 2013. Zeger Van Hese has a background in Commercial Engineering and Cultural Science. He started his professional career in the movie distribution industry but switched to IT in 1999. Over the years, he developed a passion for exploratory testing, testing in agile projects and, above all, continuous learning from different perspectives. He was the 2012 Eurostar program chair and founded his own company, Z-sharp, dedicated to helping clients on the path to smarter testing. He is co-founder of the Dutch Exploratory Workshop on Testing (DEWT), founding member of the ISST, muses about testing on his TestSideStory blog and is a regular speaker at conferences worldwide.

Although there was only one Award to present on the night, we are pleased to say that both recipients have received their own Award. 

While Declan and Zeger are the first co-winners, there have been numerous winners of the Best Paper Award at EuroSTAR in the twenty-three years of the Award. Leern more about the previous winners of the EuroSTAR Awards here here


Best Tutorial Award

Each year the Best Tutorial Award is voted for by attendees of the Monday and Tuesday tutorial sessions at EuroSTAR. The Award is presented to the person receiving the highest average score from atttendees. This year the Award was presented to Fran O’Hara for his tutorial Metamorphosis: Moving to Agile and staying Agile


Fran is Principal Consultant and founder / director of Inspire Quality Services (formerly Insight Consulting 1997-present). Fran has worked as Practice Manager with Sogeti Ireland (2008-2011) and was a co-founder and Practice Director of Insight Test Services (2003-2008). Fran has a number of years experience in software experience working as a researcher, developer, tester, project manager, software development manager, quality management consultant and agile coach.

Fran holds B.E. and M.Sc. degrees in Electronic Engineering. He is a trained CMM lead assessor and a certified ScrumMaster. He co-founded and is ex-chairman of the Irish Software Testing SIG, SoftTest Ireland, a fellow of the Irish Computer Society, and a TMMi Foundation Director.  a Fran has spoken at numerous events including  EuroSTAR for a number of years and 

You can discover the previous winners of the Best Tutorial Award here

Blog post by

go back to the blog


Leave your blog link in the comments below.

EuroSTAR In Pictures

View image gallery