Best Conference Paper Award

The EuroSTAR Best Conference Paper Award has been an important part of the EuroSTAR Conference since 2001. At EuroSTAR, we are appreciative of the efforts of those speakers who go above and beyond what is required of them in their role as speaker and we seek to encourage and acknowledge those efforts by presenting the EuroSTAR Best Paper Award.

The 2020 EuroSTAR Best Conference Paper was awarded to Gitte Ottosen for her paper ‘Testing SAFely – Finding your way in the Scaled Agile Framework’. This will be released as an eBook on EuroSTAR Huddle in January 2021.

How to win the EuroSTAR Best Conference Paper

Any confirmed EuroSTAR speaker may submit a paper for review by an independent award committee comprising the current Programme Team and selected members of programme teams from previous years.

You don’t have to have a paper ready to go when you apply to speak. Just confirm that you will submit one – the closing date for receipt of papers is usually end of September before the conference. Successful speakers will be notified of the deadline after the Programme has launched. The winner is presented with an award and a Certificate or Recognition at the annual Awards night and all qualified papers are later released to the wider EuroSTAR audience. Below is a list of  the winners of the EuroSTAR Best Conference Paper Award.

  • Gitte Ottosen

    Gitte Ottosen

    Principal Consultant, Denmark

    Gitte’s paper ‘Testing SAFely – Finding Your Way’ won the 2020 award.

    See eBook
  • Anders Dinsen

    Anders Dinsen (2019)

    Consultant Test Manager, Denmark

    Anders’ paper ‘Immanuel Kant & the Deep Rationality of Testing’’ won the 2019 award.

    See eBook
  • James Christie (2018)

    Independent Consultant, United Kingdom

    James’ paper ‘The Dragons of the Unknown’ won the 2018 award.

    See eBook
  • Dr. Andrew Brown (2017)

    SQS, United Kingdom

    Andrew won the 2017 award for his paper “Why We Make Mistakes? Human Error & Cognitive Biases”.

    See eBook
  • Declan O'Riordan (2016 - Joint Winner)

    TestingIT, United Kingdom

    Declan won for his paper “Application Security Testing: A New Approach”

    See eBook
  • Zeger van Hese (2016 - Joint Winner)

    Z-sharp, Belgium

    Zeger’s winning paper was “The Power of Doubt: Becoming A Software Sceptic”

    See eBook
  • James Thomas (2015)

    Linguamatics, UK

    James ‘s winning paper was title “Your Testing is A Joke”

    See eBook
  • Declan O'Riordan (2014)

    Test and Verification Solutions, UK

    Declan was a first time speaker and his winning paper was “What? Why? Who? And How? Of Application Security Testing”.

    See eBook
  • Zeger van Hese (2013)

    Z-Sharp, Belgium

    In 2013, Zeger van Hese collected the Best Paper Award for the 3rd time. His paper ‘Testing in the Age of Distraction’ and EuroSTAR talk have since been reproduced both as an See eBook

  • Siegfried Goeschl (2012)

    Kapsch Trafficom, Austria

    In 2012 the Best Paper was awarded to Siegfried at the Hotel Okura in Amsterdam as part of the 20 year celebration of the EuroSTAR Conference. His Paper accompanied his presenta

  • Isabel Evans (2010)

    Dolphin Computer Access, UK

    In 2010 Isabel Evans was awarded the Best Paper for her submission ‘ Working Ourselves Out of A Job: A Passion for Self Improvement. This was later released as an eBook

  • Zeger van Hese (2009)

    CTG, Belgium

    Zeger collected the Best Paper Award for the second time in 2009. The paper accompanied his presentation entitled ‘A Lucky Shot at Agile’

    See eBook
  • Bert Jagers (2008)

    CTG, Belgium

    Bert collected the award in The Hague for his paper ‘Preserving Our Future Through Customer Satisfaction’.

  • Zeger van Hese (2007)

    CTG, Belgium

    Zeger first received the Best Paper Award in Stockholm for his submission ‘Software Testing: A profession of Paradoxes’.

  • Declan Kavanagh (2006)

    Insight Group, Ireland

    In 2006, in Manchester, Declan Kavanagh was awarded Best Paper for his talk ‘The Test Business Team’.

  • Ramesh Pusala (2005)

    InfoSys Tecnologies, India

    Ramesh’s paper entitled ‘Operational Excellence Through Efficient Software Testing Metrics’ made him the 2005 winner of the Best Paper Award.

  • Neil Thompson (2004)

    Thompson Information Systems, UK

    “ROI at the Bug Factory: Goldratt and Throughput; or Risk Mitigation Trees: Review Test Handovers with Stakeholders” was the title of Neil’s presentatio

  • Hans Schaefer (2003)


    In 2003, Hans Schaefer was the recipient of the Best Paper Award for his paper ‘Managing, Organising & Optimising Testing’

  • James Lyndsay (2002)

    Workroom Productions, UK

    The winner of the 2002 Conference Best Paper was James Lyndsay for his submission which accompanied his presentation ‘Better Data: Better Testing’ .

  • Dr. Uwe Hehn (2001)

    Method Park Software AG, Germany

    The 2001 Best Paper Award was collected by Dr. Uwe Hehn for his submission entitled ‘Quality Assurance of “Handed on Software” ‘

  • Ståle Amland (1999)


    In 1999 the Best Paper Award was won by Ståle Amland for ‘Risk Based Testing and Metrics’.

  • Dr. Andreas Spillner (1998)

    University of Applied Science, Germany

    ‘Four Kinds of Class Modality – Four Kinds of Class Testing?’ won the Best Contribution to EuroSTAR award in 1998 in Munich for Dr Andreas Spillne

  • Paul Gerrard (1995)

    Gerrard Consulting, UK

    EuroSTAR veteran and 2014 Programme Chair, Paul won the award in 1995 for his paper on ‘Client/Server Performance Testing’

  • Dr Hélène Waeselynck (1994)

    INRETS, France

    This presentation and paper entitled ‘An Experimentation with Statistical Testing’ focused on probabilistic generation of test inputes; experimental comparison of test methods

  • Marc Roper & Ab. Rashid bin Ab. Rahim (1993)

    The very first Best Paper award at a EuroSTAR Conference was won in London in 1993.